My first day of school

Yesterday (my first day of classes at Maastricht University) was overwhelming, yet exhilarating. I’m taking 6 credits/2 classes: Operational Strategy and Supply Chain Research Methods. Both classes meet twice per week for 2 hours per session. Plus I’m finishing up my capstone course at the Crosby MBA Program at the University of Missouri.

I’m the only student from the United States in both of my classes. In fact, I’m the only exchange student, in the sense that all of my classmates are completing their degrees entirely at Maastricht University. Also, everyone in Supply Chain is from Germany and completing a master degree in business with an emphasis in supply chain. Needless to say, I was slightly intimidated. But I believe the pressure will push me to perform even better. I’m excited for these classes; I thoroughly enjoyed my statistics and Operations and Supply Management courses with Prof. Downey at MU, and the classes over here are going to be an extension of what I’ve already learned. The goal is to take the skills we’ve learned in the management courses and apply them to overall strategy.

The overwhelming part of the day was that I realized the night before I didn’t have any school supplies…worse yet, I didn’t even know where to buy any! Also, my student card isn’t ready, which I need to print, copy, access the library….basically to do anything. But my classmates were helpful and showed me where I can buy textbooks, etc. And I was able to take a mental break in the park between classes.

Class sizes are small (10-14), and we are further divided into groups to work on projects and daily tasks. I’m excited to work with students from such a variety of cultural, academic, and professional backgrounds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment