Week 2

There wasn’t much to report last week. It was rainy and cold most of the week, which was good in the sense that it was motivation for staying in and working on schoolwork. It’s getting to be crunch time in my Capstone course back at Mizzou, and they really pack on the daily homework here.

My second and third day of classes went well. I felt as though I had something to prove as the only student from the U.S. in my courses; so as my classes progress, I am happy to discover that we’re all on the same level. On Friday, I gave my first presentation overseas, which is a good experience to have under my belt.

The sun made an appearance on Friday, and I treated myself to lunch on the Vrijthof (the main town square). The restaurant (In Den Ouden) is recommended by my guidebook under the “inexpensive category,” and I’ve been there twice now. On both occasions they didn’t charge me for my beverage; so they really are inexpensive! 🙂 The restaurants here serve a lot of French and Italian-inspired dishes, but I asked the waiter for a local Dutch dish. He brought me “zoervleis met friete, slaoj, en appelmous,” which is a steak (Wikipedia says it’s typically horse meat, but it tasted like beef; so I’m going to tell myself it was beef) and onion stew-like dish served with french fries (of course), salad, and homemade applesauce. It was quite good, but it was more than I could eat for even two meals. Unfortunately, they don’t offer “doggie bags.”

I then visited many stores in an attempt to find something orange to wear on Queensday. I strongly detest the color orange, though, and I couldn’t bring myself to spend money on something I’d only wear once. I’m glad I visited the Markt, however, because I was able to see the outdoor market that is held there every Wednesday and Friday. It was different from what I expected, because at least 75% of the stands sold fabric and other sewing materials. I even saw one stand that only sold zippers…hundreds of zippers in every imaginable color. The Dutch must make good use of their sewing machines, which is more than I can say for myself.

I went to bed early on Friday night to prepare for Queensday…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 2

  1. Robyn Ridgway says:

    Hi Sarah,

    Congratulations for presenting! And for recognizing your competitiveness with other graduate students from around the world. I can’t wait to hear about Queensday and think you would look great in orange. Miss you!
    Robyn

  2. Kay says:

    I am enjoying reading about your trip. William came to Richmond
    during the spring break time before Easter to see Grandma Land.
    We were so glad he came and it really meant alot to Mother that he
    had made the long trip. He also spent a time with her during a very
    difficult week. I am also looking forward to reading about Queensday.
    With love, Kay

  3. Kay says:

    I just realized your birthday is tomorrow. I hope you have a
    very special birthday celebration that will be a memory for many
    years to come. May God richly bless you tomorrow and may
    you have many, many more happy birthdays. With love, Kay

  4. Kim Hedges says:

    Hi Sarah! I love reading about your time over there. It sounds like you are having a blast and learning many new things. We miss you! There are some things in your mailbox which I am going to remove and put on my desk, so when you get back you can stop by to visit and pick them up. Can’t wait to see pictures and read more! Take care.

  5. Susan says:

    Orange was your granddad’s favorite color, but I agree with you.

Leave a comment