Rain? Really?

It rained Friday and Saturday. I was beginning to think this was impossible after a week of blue skies, sunshine, and 75-80 degree temperatures; so I wasn’t surprised to see that the sunshine was never completely covered by the clouds. I was ready for a break from the hot sun, though, and welcomed the rain and cool breezes it brought.

On my way home Friday, I realized that the Led Zeppelin T-shirt that I was wearing says USA on it…as if anyone needed a hint! What made the whole situation ironic was that two people asked me for directions on Friday. I was very happy to oblige, as I finally felt as though I have my head on straight again.

On Saturday I visited the Bonnefantenmuseum, which is on the other side of the River Maas from my apartment and the city center. As a student, it was only 4 euros to enter the museum, and that fee allows me access for an entire year. And since I don’t have my mom here (she has usually been my own personal museum/art guide in the past), I sprung for the audio tour. The 2 euros were well worth it.

I saw three exhibitions at the museum. One was a new display of the highlights of the permanent collection. The second, “Wintergarden,” was a selection of modern masterpieces on loan from Liege. The third floor displayed works by two local artists. It was an enjoyable and relaxing 2 hours, and I was able to see works by Rubens, Antoon van Dyck, Monet, Pissarro, Ensor, Picasso, and Chagall.

On my way home, I stopped at ALDI for cheap laundry detergent. ALDI in Maastricht…I couldn’t believe until I saw it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment